

Evening Program

5:30 - 7:00 Reception

7:00 - 8:00 Awards Ceremony

Welcome

Peter Carter Vice Director, Awards, APA LA

APA LA Address & Awards

Introduction – Marissa Aho Director, APA LA

Concluding Remarks

Francisco Contreras Vice Director, Awards, APA LA

8:00-9:00 Dessert Reception

Thank you for joining us for the 2012 APA LA Awards Gala to celebrate the best in Los Angeles planning.

Very Special Thanks to: Jacqui Swartz Lars Carlson

Jurors

Carol Barrett
City of San Gabriel

Evelyn Blumenberg *UCLA*

Reuben Caldwell City of Los Angeles

Ryan Gohlich
City of Beverly Hills

Tom Henry
City of Los Angeles

Stanley Hoffman
Stanley R. Hoffman Associates

John Keho City of West Hollywood

Deborah Murphy Los Angeles Walks

Patrick Prescott City of Burbank

Bianca Siegel
City of West Hollywood

Jing Yeo City of Santa Monica

Comprehensive Plan Award, Large Jurisdiction

Downtown Plan, City of Long Beach

City of Long Beach, Department of Development Services

Award of Merit

Hollywood Community Plan Los Angeles Department of City Planning, Mary Richardson, Kevin Keller, Conni Pallini-Tipton

Comprehensive Plan Award, Small Jurisdiction

Award of Merit

Old Town La Verne Specific Plan City of La Verne, The Arroyo Group

Planning Excellence Award for Best Practice

Southern California Plug-In Electric Vehicle

Readiness Plan & Atlas

UCLA Luskin Center for Innovation, J.R. DeShazo, Ayala Ben-Yehuda, Norman Wong, Susan Woodward, Brett Williams

Planning Excellence in Implementation, Small Jurisdiction

Rosemead Boulevard Safety Enhancement and Beautification Project

Temple City City Council



Planning Excellence in Implementation, Small Jurisdiction

Award of Merit

Canyon Creek Infill Affordable Housing Project City of Calabasas, Thomas Safran & Associates, Withee Malcolm Architects

Planning Excellence Award for Grassroots Initiative

Complete Streets Working Group

Downtown Los Angeles Neighborhood Council

Public Outreach Award

Virgil Village Traffic Calming Plan

Los Angeles Neighborhood Initiative, Los Angeles Department of Transportation, Studio One Eleven

Award of Merit

West Boulevard Community Linkages and Revitalization Plan Los Angeles Neighborhood Initiative, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, RRM Design Group

Focused Issue Planning Award

South Bay Bicycle Master Plan

Los Angeles County Bicycle Coalition, South Bay Bicycle Coalition, Alta Planning + Design

Award of Merit

North Glendale Historic Context City of Glendale Community Development Department

Neighborhood Planning Award

Downtown Bellflower Revitalization Vision Strategy City of Bellflower

Award of Merit

"Maryland Off Broadway" Art & Entertainment District City of Glendale Community Development Department

Social Change and Diversity Award

Century Villages at Cabrillo

Century Housing, City of Long Beach, The Planning Center | DC&E

Distinguished Leadership Award

Citizen Planner Stephanie Landregan

Individual Journalist Award

Josh Stephens

Distinguished Leadership Award, Organization

Los Angeles Neighborhood Initiative

John Chase Visionary Award

To be announced

These awards and APA LA programming are made possible through the generous support of our sponsors:

Gold Sponsors



ATKINSMELÉNDREZ







UCLA Urban Planning

Luskin School of Public Affairs





Silver Sponsors







