APA Los Angeles Awards 2013

Awards Ceremony Photos

Comprehensive Plan Award, Large Jurisdiction
Downtown Plan, City of Long Beach
City of Long Beach, Department of Development Services

Comprehensive Plan Award, Large Jurisdiction – Award of Merit
Hollywood Community Plan
Los Angeles Department of City Planning, Mary Richardson, Kevin Keller, Conni Pallini-Tipton

Comprehensive Plan Award, Small Jurisdiction – Award of Merit
Old Town La Verne Specific Plan
City of La Verne, The Arroyo Group

Planning Excellence Award for Best Practice
Southern California Plug-In Electric Vehicle Readiness Plan & Atlas
UCLA Luskin Center for Innovation, J.R. DeShazo, Ayala Ben-Yehuda, Norman Wong, Susan
Woodward, Brett Williams

Planning Excellence in Implementation Award, Small Jurisdiction
Rosemead Boulevard Safety Enhancement and Beautification Project
Temple City City Council

Innovative Use of Technology Award
Westside Mobility Plan
Fehr & Peers, Los Angeles Department of Transportation

Public Outreach Award
PLANNING for College Program
Nina Idemudia

Neighborhood Planning Award
Willowbrook MLK Wellness Community
Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas (Los Angeles County), William T. Fujioka (Chief Executive Officer,
Los Angeles County), Gensler, Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc., Parker Environmental
Consultants, AHBE Landscape Architects

Neighborhood Planning Award – Award of Merit
Washington Square Streetscape Master Plan
RTKL Associates Inc. / MPNA

Planning Achievement Award – Hard Won Victory
Doran Gardens
Glendale Housing Authority, City of Glendale, Heritage Housing Partners, RAAM
Construction, AHBE Landscape Architects

Academic Award
Reclaiming the Right-Of-Way: A toolkit for creating and implementing parklets
Anastasia Loukaitou-Sideris (UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs), Madeline Brozen (UCLA
Complete Streets Initiative), Colleen Callahan (UCLA Luskin Center for Innovation)

Distinguished Leadership Award – Elected Official
Mayor Antonio R. Villaraigosa

Distinguished Leadership Award – Firm or Agency
The City of Santa Monica Department of Planning and Community Development

Distinguished Leadership Award – Citizen Planner
William Roschen, FAIA, LEED AP (Roschen Van Cleve Architects), President, Los Angeles City
Planning Commission, 2009-2013

John Chase Visionary Award – Award of Merit
Brian Ulaszewski (City Fabrick)
Journalism Award – Circulation 35,000 to 100,000
Streetsblog Los Angeles
Damien Newton, Editor

Journalism Award – Circulation under 35,000
Temple City Connect
City of Temple City and Fuel Creative Group, Roger Grody, Jerry Jambazian, Stella Yu

Individual Journalist Award – Award of Merit
Sahra Sulaiman (Streetsblog Los Angeles)

Environmental Award
The Convention and Event Center EIR
City of Los Angeles Department of City Planning, Diana Kitching, Adam Villani, Jon Foreman, Erin
Strelich, Srimal Hewawitharana

Innovation in Green Community Planning
Greener Glendale Plan
City of Glendale, Department of Community Development, Cassandra Pruett, Laura Stotler, Glendale
Department of Water and Power

Gold Sponsors
BonTerra Consulting
Craig Lawson & Co. Zoning and Land Use Consultants
Fehr & Peers Transportation Consultants
Melendrez Design Partners
The Planning Center / DC&E

Silver Sponsors
AHBE Landscape Architects
Civic Solutions
Parker Environmental Consultants
RBF Consulting
UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs